EPSC Welcomes Board Members and Associate Members of 2017

EPSC is pleased to welcome our Board of Directors and Associate Members of 2017. We look forward to working with you this coming year.

Board Members Associate Members
Apple Canada Inc. ASUS Northern Micro Inc.
Canon Canada Inc. BenQ Oracle Inc.
Cisco Systems Inc. Brother Canada Ltd. Ricoh Canada Inc.
Dell Canada Inc Epson of America Inc. Toshiba of Canada Ltd.
Hewlett-Packard (Canada) Co. Fujitsu Vizio Inc.
IBM Canada Ltd. Hitachi Data Systems Inc. Xerox Canada Ltd.
Lenovo Canada Inc. Hewlett Packard Enterprise  
Microsoft Corporation Lexmark Canada Inc.  
Panasonic Canada Inc. LG Electronics Canada Inc.  
Samsung Electronics Canada Inc. MMD – Phillips.  
Sony of Canada Ltd. NetApp Inc.

Pete Maddock, Panasonic Canada Inc. named 2016 Clean50 Honouree


EPSC would like to congratulate Peter Maddock, Manager Regulatory Compliance, Panasonic Canada Inc. and member of the EPSC Board of Directors for being named as a 2016 Clean50 Honouree in the category  of Technology & Telecommunications organizations.

Peter is being recognized for taking a leadership role by diving into a variety of projects that work to promote electronic waste diversion and recycling within Panasonic Canada and beyond. He worked to create a company-wide organics recycling program that collected 17.5 MT for composting in its first year. He also led his team to achieve a 91% diversion rate for waste generated at their Warehouse facilities and launched an Employee Recycling Centre at their Head Office to inspire employees to responsibly recycle hazardous materials.

The purpose of the Clean50 is to identify and recognize 50 individuals (or small teams) who have made the greatest contributions to sustainable development or clean capitalism in Canada.

Use this link to visit the Clean50 website.

LG earns 2015 Design for Recycling Award®


At the 2015 Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries (ISRI) conference in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, LG Electronics was presented with the 2015 Design for Recycling® (DfR) Award, the highest honor from the leading recycling industry group.  ISRI recognized LG “for advanced new television products that emphasize recycling during every lifecycle phase.”

Specifically, LG was recognized for its 4K ULTRA HD OLED and LED TVs. According to ISRI, the product design for these models include the following recycling-friendly traits: mercury-free display panels; use of recycled and recyclable plastics; inclusion of PVC- and BFR-free components; smaller and lighter packaging; ease of disassembly; and standardized materials and connection types.

To be eligible for ISRI’s Design for Recycling® Award, a product must be designed/ redesigned and manufactured to:

  • Contain the maximum amount of materials that are recyclable;
  • Be easily recycled through current or newly designed recycling processes and procedures;
  • Be cost effective to recycle whereby the cost to recycle does not exceed the value of its recycled materials;
  • Be free of hazardous materials that are not recyclable or impede the recycling process;
  • Minimize the time and cost involved to recycle the product;
  • Reduce the use of raw materials by including recycled materials and/or components; and
  • Have a net gain in the overall recyclability of the product while reducing the overall negative impact on the environment.


United Nations University releases new report, ‘The Global E-Waste Monitor 2014’


The United Nations University Institute for the Advanced Study of Sustainability has recently released, The Global E-Waste Monitor 2014. The report illustrates the size of the e-waste challenge, the management progress for establishing the specialized e-waste collection and treatment systems and the future outlook.

The results illustrated in the report are based on empirical data (the UN Comtrade Database) and provide an unprecedented level of detail. This information gives a more accurate overview of the magnitude of the e-waste problem in different regions.

It is estimated that the total amount e-waste generated in 2014 was 41.8 million metric tonnes (Mt). This e-waste is comprised of 1.0 Mt of lamps, 6.3 Mt of screens, 3.0 Mt of small IT (such as mobile phones, personal computers, printers, etc.), 12.8 Mt of small equipment (such as vacuum cleaners, microwaves, toasters, electric shavers, video cameras, etc.), 11.8 Mt of large equipment (such as washing machines, clothes dryers, dishwashers, electric stoves, etc.) and 7.0 Mt of cooling and freezing equipment (temperature exchange equipment).

The report indicates that small IT and telecommunication equipment (i.e., mobile phones, routers, personal computers, printers, telephones, etc.), the electronics products largely obligated by regulation in Canadian provinces, make up only 7.2% of e-waste generated worldwide. Old microwaves, washing machines, dishwashers, ovens, refrigerators, air conditioners and other household items made up the bulk of the waste generated.

Since 2004, electronics recycling programs across Canada have diverted over 500,000 metric tonnes of end-of-life electronics from landfill.

In 2013, Canadians responsibly recycled 4.2 kg per capita of end-of-life electronics products. Canada operates one of the best electronics recycling programs on the planet. Use this link to review how Canadian recycling programs compare to the rest of the world.

How to Prepare Your Device for Recycling


Canadian residents can bring their outdated or unwanted electronics products to a designated drop-off location. This free drop off service is made possible because of environmental handling fees (EHFs) that consumers pay when purchasing new electronics.

Prior to dropping off your device for recycling, please review these helpful tips hosted on the EPSC Website to prepare your device for responsible recycling and to ensure that your personal data is erased from the device’s memory.

New Josh Lepawsky Article: Are we living in a “post-Basel” world?

A recent (December 2014) article written by Josh Lepawsky (Professor, Department of Geography, Memorial University of Newfoundland) poses an interesting and important question. Are we living in a “post-Basel” world?

The Basel Convention on the Control of Transboundary Movements of Hazardous Wastes and their Disposal, aims to combat the transport of hazardous wastes from OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development) countries, the European Community, and Lichtenstein to non-OECD countries.

Lepawsky argues that the Basel Convention suggests that,

“all non-Annex VII territories are equally vulnerable to hazardous waste dumping from Annex VII territories, but not vulnerable to such dumping amongst themselves. Yet, the non-Annex VII grouping contains a hugely diverse set of countries, including the two largest non-Annex VII economies, China and India. 

Drawing on textual analysis of Convention documents and trade data available for China and India, the paper engages with recent research into the growing role of ‘South-South’ trade to critically engage with the geographical imaginary of the Basel Convention. It suggests that as the global patterns of hazardous waste trade shift, the relevance of the Basel Convention’s geographical imaginary declines.”